Interpretative processing

9 Dec

As I wrote earlier on is there always a wide span between correct looks or artistic freedom and how one personally want the picture to look.

The example I used earlier was almost always the white balance that is very subjective. Correct is often not appealing, at least in my eyes and on my level of experience.

Down here I have taken a picture of a machine, found on a beach in Northern Norway.

I took first the RAW image and did some general adjustments. Thereafter came some local adjustments, in this case the cliffs in the background that got darker.

After that I tested some of the presets that Lightroom offered.

First off: Direct positive. I chose that because it gave a supernatural impression, strong colours and contrasts.

Now I chose to convert the image to b/w to then go on to sepia-effect. First I tried different vignettes but settled in the end for a lighter image with a stronger vignette to have more contrast in it.

IMG_2342-2

IMG_2342

IMG_2342-3

IMG_2342-Edit

IMG_2342-4

IMG_2342-5

IMG_2342-6

Leave a Reply

